Be Proud Of Your Ego vs Ego Is The Enemy

August 2022

Already a new newsletter?

Yup, August flew by.

New month, new newsletter!

This month's topics are:

  • Bring Back Bullying

  • Be Proud Of Your Ego vs Ego Is The Enemy

  • Next Steps

Bring Back Bullying

Some people just need a slap in the back of their heads.

People need to be called out.

Too much shit gets slid under the table and ignored.

This brings us back to last month's topic, you're the average of the five people you spend the most time with.

If your friends do something that's out of line, ridiculous and/or embarrassing to them and to others, call them out.

Bully them a little.

Of course, not to the extent that it's unhealthy.

Don't be the archetypical bully.

All I'm advocating for is calling people out and punishing bad behaviour, which nowadays is classified as bullying a lot of the time.

Is your friend overweight?

Bully them a little to get them to start losing it.

A true friend puts the friend in front of the friendship.

- A butchered quote that I heard on a podcast and I can't find it anymore whoops

Be Proud Of Your Ego vs Ego Is The Enemy

I used to argue that having an ego is essential to achieving success.

That you had to have a standard set for yourself to which you have to measure up against.

It's painful when your ego hurts, especially if it's big.

So to avoid the pain you must walk the walk and not only talk the talk.

Sometimes I'd be in situations I regretted because of my ego.

Since I talked so highly of myself, I had to start to walk the walk.

And if I failed, well, that would hurt my ego even more.

This way I kept improving myself.

Then I read "Ego is the Enemy by Ryan Holiday", one of the best books I've read so far.

It advocated for the silent type.

The type that just does the work and doesn't even talk about it let alone try to receive praise or a reward.

I'm a big believer in thinking big, aiming as high as you can and taking as many shots as you need.

Ryan disagrees to an extent.

Thinking big and grandiose when you haven't done anything yet is just a form of self-pleasing.

Planning your future is more fun than working for it.

“We will learn that though we think big, we must act and live small in order to accomplish what we seek. Because we will be action and education focused, and forgo validation and status, our ambition will not be grandiose but iterative—one foot in front of the other, learning and growing and putting in the time.”

― Ryan Holiday, Ego is the Enemy: The Fight to Master Our Greatest Opponent

Still wrestling with this topic.

I fully agree with the advocated silent type that just does the work, not to be confused with the lone wolf by the way.

But having some sense of "I deserve x so I must achieve it" is functional.

Of course, you can't be the type that just says "I deserve this so gimme it".

But then again it might just be a cop-out, that in the long run having that high self-worth, that might or might not be inflated, is detrimental.

Send me your thoughts on this, since I literally haven't figured it out yet.

I am 99% sure it's somewhere in between the two extremes, but where?

Next Steps

So this past month I've worked on a few blockchain projects, which I've added to my portfolio on my website.

Did this so I'd have a better chance at getting a blockchain developer job.

I'm still in school and extremely bored xD so a job would be nice to earn some extra income.

My goal is to get that developer position by this fall.

I'll update you guys on how it goes ;)